SCREW PROBLEM

Update for Tuesday, August 9, 2022:

For our customers in the Marseille region:

Call us at 06 83 81 71 60 to make appointment. We will add the threadlocker for you.

 

  For all other French and European customers:  

  • Many of our customers have already fixed the problem at a watch shop/ store, or have managed to do it themselves .

  • Customers who have done it at a watch shop/ store can ask us for a refund (we will need the invoice, please keep it). It only costs a few euros.

  • For those who cannot have the issue fixed, please write to us at contact@bohen-watches.com. If you use WhatsApp, leave us your number so that we can contact you. Either way, please do not worry, we'll fix the problem no matter what it will cost us.

  • Another solution : our watchmaker is actually producing a screwdriver. we can send one to you once the production is done. Then, any watch repair shop will be able to do the job for you.

  • Another solution : you want to send back the watch to us (at our charges), so we will add the threadlock and will ship back the watch to you. Then, please send us an email before and wait for our answer (email to: contact@bohen-watches.com). If you decide to take this option, please remove the watch band and will only send the head of the watch with the universal links. No need for enormous packaging. Just make sure that the watch head is well protected. 

  • We will publish more information shortly. Thank you all for your understanding and for your kindness. We thought there would be a terrible bad buzz on the internet and finally, the opposite is happening: Ambassadors all love the Mille-Mer and quite a number of watch stores selling famous brand watches called us following the arrivals of our customers to have the thread lock added at their places. These stores were impressed by the quality of our first model and offered us to do business with them. Like what, in all negative events, there is always something positive. Obviously, as you already know, we have chosen to sell our watches directly to our customers, without any intermediary.

Sincerely, 

Blaise Dominique.

Read this message carrefully, the information is more complete than on the previous email.

 

On a Bohen Mille-Mer, the crown is at 12 o'clock. Therefore, we cannot put a springbar to fix the watch band (the bar would cross the crown). For this reason, the band is attached to the watch head  by two screws.

Unfortunately, we discovered a major problem with the two screws.

These two screws have been designed to receive thread locker (they are slightly smaller than the diameter of the screw thread so that the product fills the empty space). Unfortunately, and despite our factory's assertion, this has not been done.

screw.jpg

Threadlocker is a kind of glue/varnish that locks the screws on the engines, for example, of your cars and motorcycles. We also put it on diving watches.

This is a serious mistake, because the two screws were designed specifically to receive this threadlocker. If there is none, one of the two screws comes loose and falls. 

Important note: it would be too complicated to explain the mechanical principle, but the second screw cannot fall. On the other hand, it will remain loose. It is imperative to treat the problem on both screws.

For watches that have not yet been shipped:

We will first add the thread lock on your watches, before sending them out. Our after-sales service, based in the region, will take care of it on Tuesday or Wednesday.

FYI, they are going to apply the red thread lock (the strong one). 

In your package, there will be a small paper stating that your watch has been treated.


 


 

For those who have received their watch or who will receive it without the paper (watches currently in transit):


 

1: Until the problem is fixed, do not wear your watch.

2: Go to a watch repair shop or a store that sells watches and has a repair service.

3: ask them to unscrew the two screws, put on medium or strong threadlocker (blue or red) , then put the screws back on. It will only cost you a few euros and the job will be done in 5 minutes.

4: Some watchmakers do not have the necessary screwdriver. Indeed, it is a  "H"  shape head for "H" screws used for other well-known brands. If they don't have the tool, they can take a 2mm screwdriver and make a slit in the middle (they have the dremel to do this). Watchmakers who make repairs are used to adapting their tools.

A watchmaker's screwdriver is made up of two main parts: the handle and the head. The handle is usable almost for life. The head, on the other hand, is changed when it is getting used. Watchmakers know how to recut a head.

 

Example of H-shaped screwdriver:

Tournevis-en-H-de-2-0mm-pour-retirer-le-moyeu-vis-de-bo-tier-de-montre.jpg

Again, don't wear your watch until you've had the threadlocker added!

 

 

Despite the weekend, our assembler has already been notified of the problem. On Monday, we will share more with him. He knows he made the mistake, he is sorry, but the reality is that it is you, our customers, who suffer from it, and it is we who will suffer your reproaches. It is truly a shame for me. I don't even know how to express how I feel. I obviously present my sincere apologies, knowing that you have the right to be angry with me. It's part of the way, this kind of problem happens but what drives me crazy is that it would have been easy not to forget such a simple thing to do for everything to go for the best.

I will let you know Monday evening.

Blaise-Dominique.

PROBLEME DE VIS

Mise a jour du mardi 9 aout 2022 :

Pour nos clients de la région de Marseille :

Appelez-nous pour prendre  rendez-vous au 06 83 81 71 60. Nous allons ajouter le frein filet pour vous.

 

 Pour tous les autres clients français et européens :  

  • Environ 70% de nos clients ont déjà pu faire régler le problème dans un magasin, ou on réussi à le faire eux-mêmes.

  • Les clients qui veulent nous renvoyer la montre pour qu'on le fasse pour eux peuvent nous contacter au 06 83 81 71 60.

  • Les clients qui le font faire en magasin peuvent nous demander le remboursement (nous aurons besoin de la facture, merci de la conserver). Ca ne coûte que quelques euros.

Pour les clients vivants dans les pays éloignés et avec passage en douane :

  • Environ 50% de nos clients ont déjà pu faire régler le problème dans un magasin, ou on réussi à le faire eux-mêmes.

  • Les clients qui le font faire en magasin peuvent nous demander le remboursement (nous aurons besoin de la facture, merci de la conserver). Ca ne coûte que quelques euros.

  • Pour ceux qui ne peuvent pas faire réaliser l'opération, merci de nous écrire à contact@bohen-watches.com. Si vous avez whatsapp, laissez-nous votre numéro afin que je puisse vous joindre. Dans tous les cas, n'ayez aucun inquiétude, nous allons résoudre le problème, quoi qu'il nous en coûte.

Nous publieront plus d'informations sous peu. Merci à tous pour votre compréhension et pour votre gentillesse. Nous pensions qu'il y aurait un terrible bad buzz sur internet et finalement, c'est l'inverse qui se passe : les Ambassadeurs sont tous tombé amoureux de la Mille-Mer. 

Pour l'anecdote, plusieurs magasin de montres de marques célèbres nous ont appelé suite à la venue de nos client pour faire ajouter le frein filet. Ces magasins ont été impressionnés par la qualité de notre premier modèle et nous ont proposé de nous distribuer chez eux ! Comme quoi, dans chaque épreuve, il y a quelque chose de positif. Evidement, comme vous le savez, nous avons choisi de vendre directement à nos clients nos montres, sans aucun intermédiaire.

Bien cordialement, 

Blaise Dominique.

Samedi 6 aout 2020 :

 

Lisez entièrement ce message, les informations sont plus complètes que sur le précèdent mail.

 

Sur une Bohen Mille-Mer, la couronne est à 12h. De ce fait, on ne peut pas mettre une pompe pour fixer le bracelet (la pompe traverserait la couronne). Pour cette raison, le bracelet est accroché à la tête de la montre par deux vis très importantes.

Malheureusement, nous avons découvert un problème majeur concernant les deux vis de la tête de montre.

Ces deux vis ont été conçues pour recevoir du frein filet (elles sont légèrement plus petites que le diamètre du pas de vis afin que le produit remplisse l'espace vide). Malheureusement, et malgré l'affirmation de notre usine, cela n'a pas été fait.

screw.jpg

Le frein filet est une sorte de vernis-colle qui bloque les vis sur les moteurs, par exemple, de vos autos et motos. On en met aussi sur les montres de plongée.

C'est une erreur grave, car les deux vis ont été conçues spécialement pour recevoir ce frein filet. S'il n'y en a pas, une des deux vis se détache et tombe. 

Note importante : il serait trop compliqué d'expliquer le principe mécanique, mais la deuxième vis ne peut pas tomber. En revanche, elle va rester desserrée. Il faut impérativement traiter le problème sur les deux vis.

Pour les montres qui n'ont pas encore étés expédiées :

Nous allons d'abord ajouter le frein filet sur vos montres, avant de les envoyer. Notre SAV, basé dans la région, va s'en occuper mardi ou mercredi.

Pour info, ils vont poser le frein filet rouge (le fort). 

Dans votre colis, il y aura un petit papier précisant que votre montre a été traitée.


 


 

Pour ceux qui ont reçu leur montre ou qui vont la recevoir sans le papier (montres actuellement en transit) :


 

1 : En attendant que le problème soit fixé, ne portez surtout pas votre montre.

2 : Allez chez un horloger réparateur ou dans un magasin qui vend des montres et qui a un service de réparation.

3 : demandez-lui de dévisser les deux vis, de mettre du frein filet moyen ou fort (bleu ou rouge), puis de remettre les vis. Cela ne vous coûtera que quelques euros et l’opération sera réalisée en 5 minutes au maximum.

4 : Certains horlogers n'ont pas le tournevis nécessaire. En effet, il s'agit d'un tournevis pour vis en  "H" utilisé pour d'autres marques connues. S'ils n'ont pas l'outil, ils peuvent prendre un embout de tournevis de 2mm et faire une fente au milieu (ils ont le matériel pour le faire). Les horloger qui font des réparations ont l'habitudes d'adapter leur outils.

Un tournevis d'horloger est composé de deux parties principales : le manche, et l'embout. Le manche est utilisable presque à vie. L'embout, en revanche, est changé quand il est usé. Les horlogers savent retailler un embout.

 

Exemple de tournevis en H :

Tournevis-en-H-de-2-0mm-pour-retirer-le-moyeu-vis-de-bo-tier-de-montre.jpg

Encore une fois, ne portez pas votre montre avant d'avoir fait ajouter le frein filet !

 

 

Malgré le week-end, notre assembleur est déjà prévenu du problème. Lundi, nous ferons le point avec lui sur la situation. Il sait qu'il a fait l'erreur, il en est désolé mais la réalité, c'est que c'est vous, nos clients, qui en souffrez, et c'est nous qui allons subir vos reproches. C'est véritablement une honte pour moi. Je ne sais même pas comment exprimer ce que je ressens. Je vous présente évidement mes sincères excuses, tout en sachant que vous avez le droit de m'en vouloir. Ca fait partie du chemin, ce genre de problème arrive mais ce qui me rend fou, c'est qu'il aurait suffit de ne pas oublier une chose si simple à faire pour que tout se passe pour le mieux.

Je vous tiendrai informé lundi soir.

Blaise-Dominique.