CARTE_DRAPEAU_SUISSE.svg.png

In the fascinating watch world, "Swiss Made" is the magic word. However, by reading this article, you will understand this label is not a guarantee of quality and we will explain why, using concrete examples.

How to obtain the Swiss Made label? By simplifying, the legislation requires:

 

1: The movement is Swiss Made.

2: The total cost of the watch is at least 60% from Swiss manufactures (but sometimes, the word "manufacture" hides the word "invoicing" inside it and therefore, perhaps, there is some issue of honesty here).

 

Example of a low-end Swiss-Made watch configuration :

 

1: Swiss-made movement in "élaboré" version: 78 Euros.

2: Costs of the rests of the watch (Chinese made) + assembly (Swiss): 52 Euros.

 

The total cost of the watch is 130 Euros. It is even cheaper than the single Bohen Mille-Mer watchband (buckle is not included).

These kinds of watches are sold between 450 and 800 Euros on internet.

So, all Swiss-Made watches in this range of prices are actually Made in China. But that's not really the problem. The real problem is that, 52 Euros is not sufficient for providing a quality case, case back, dial, hands, crown, band and buckle.

swiss made in china.png

This is why the Swiss Made label does not mean that, a Swiss watch is superior to a non-Swiss watch. Some watches with a Miyota movement will offer you a good reliability for less money.

 

Mother-country:

 

Let's take a symbol of absolute luxury car: a Rolls-Royce, or an Aston-Martin. Do these English brands produce truly English cars? No, even far from it. It is the same for BMW. Today, all production is international, for technology and cost reasons.

With globalisation, many Swiss manufacturers that lost their competitiveness, have been bought by German groups and have been able to come back effective against Chinese factories. How? By accepting the concept of international manufacturing:

1: Superiority of the know-how of Swiss watchmakers.

2: Investments by German partners.

3: Optimization of manufacturing costs, sometimes with a hidden part of Asian manufacturing. But without reducing the quality.

 

I have lived in Vietnam for 4 years and at that time, I met a Swiss man who has set up a jewelry workshop in the third district in Ho Chi Minh city. One of his clients was one of the biggest jewelers at "Place Vendôme" in Paris. The secret was absolute. Obviously, the goal was to reduce the manufacturing price for an equal quality.

THE RUMOR.

d05f554101_50147330_hacker.jpg

On watch blogs, people sometimes talk about this dark side of the manufacturing process. One says that, there is a manufacturer in New Mexico that works for Rolex. Others say that, they have seen an Omega subcontractor factory based in the Mekong Delta. Is it true? Is it a legend? I don't know, but those who know will not say anything: watchmaking is a closed and secret world.

The only question that can be asked and answered is: 

Is the quality of Rolex or Omega watches truly exceptional? And to me, the answer is clear: YES, these two jewels of Swiss watchmaking offer the best to their customers. So, we come back to the example of Rolls and Aston Martin.

 

Swissness:

 

At the beginning of our project, we were obsessed with the percentage of Swissness of the watch. One day, by chance, my wife came across an article about the most influential people in Swiss watchmaking. While reading this article, I recognized one person who I had made my first experience with in watchmaking. I was a junior designer, and this college (we'll call "C") was just starting out in the sales department. I sent an email to "C" to congratulate the remarkable professional career and to introduce my project. Fortunately, "C" responded to me quickly and we got back in touch. After talking about Bohen, "C" told us: that is not how you are going to get the best quality result. It is not about 100% Swiss, or not. What is needed is that you seek the best in quality for your customers, while remaining affordable at the price level.

 

"C" gave us a very concrete example, which will immediately enlighten you:

 

Our sapphire crystal, Swiss-Made and resistant to 100 ATM, costs 21 Swiss francs.

"C" showed us the same glass, made in China, for 12 US Dollars.

Question: Is the Swiss-made glass better ?

Response from "C": No difference, because it is the same glass. The glass was bought in China, but the processing was done in Switzerland (which makes it Swiss-Made). This is the hidden side that globalization plays in Swiss-Made label.

 

So, in your opinion, which glass did we choose? The cheapest, to get maximum benefit from you? Or the most expensive, to ensure a greater part of Swissness?

 

The answer is "neither of them", because "C" introduced us to a Japanese manufacturer that supplies lenses for satellite industry and for major brands of optics. These sapphires are incomparable on quality and specifications. Otherwise, the price of this Japanese glass increased from 21 Swiss Francs to 45 US Dollars. For this price, you have the Rolls-Royce sapphire glasses.

 

From there, "C" introduced us to the boss of an "engineering office" who is in charge of the manufacturing for a Swiss luxury brand you all know, with selling prices up to 20,000 USD. Working with this office, gave us an access to the biggest brands' subcontractors and our small quantities suddenly were no longer a problem. No doubt that, network matters. 

 

What have these brought to us?

A quality that puts us in the league of the best brands without any compromise.

A price that does not exceed our target.

Confidence in the manufacturing process.

A very high rate of Swissness.

 

What sacrifices did we have to make?

Our margin went from X3 to X2 (yes, what did you expect? there are no miracles).

The portion of Swissness is smaller because of the Japanese sapphire glass, and also the packaging which will be produced by the Asian subcontractor of several luxury brands.

Thanks to these, we were able to push our works further and bring all the subtleties that define a luxury product: A very pure steel, with aerospace standards. Black Polishes (the most beautiful manual polishing) and use of a special technique for Deep Brushed effects. These are finishes that will be seen and will provide you a feeling of beauty. The same with the movement: even if there is no transparent back-case, our modified and antimagnetic movement will receive pearl bridges and "Côtes de Geneve".

BMM018.jpg

To obtain indexes with only three metal sides, we created a luminescent material in the mass, because the paint was no longer applicable.

BMM016.jpg

For the minutes and hour hands: three coats of Superluminova to obtain the highest intensity, and with embossed and brushed sides. All these details generate the refinement that you will only see in luxury watches, not yet to mention our date magnifier that you will not see anywhere else. After all... Why shouldn't we look for only the best?

BMM010.jpg

Luxury is an art,

Exigency is the heart,

Rarity is the soul.

At the end of April, we will finally be able to unveil the videos, photos and the first reviews of the watch. We are in the last sprint before the finish and there will only be 500 watches in the Ambassador series (at a preferential price).

If one of our Bohen Mille-Mer interests you, we advise you to register right now on our website: we do not know how many members will buy the watch. What’s certain is that, subscribed members will be served first. Our community has surpassed 500 members in the first two months of our creation. Today, our community is several thousand and registrations are increasing every day.

Click here to become a member :

En horlogerie, le Swiss Made fait rêver. Mais en lisant cet article vous allez comprendre que ce label n’est pas un gage de qualité et on va vous expliquer pourquoi, à l’aide d’exemples concrets.

Comment obtenir le label Swiss Made ? En simplifiant, la législation exige que :

1 : Le mouvement soit Swiss Made.

2 : Le coût total de la montre soit au minimum 60 % issu de fabrication Suisse (mais parfois le mot « fabrication » cache le mot « facturation » et donc, il peut y avoir tromperie pour le client).

 

Exemple d’une configuration de montre Swiss-Made bas-de-gamme :

 

1 : Mouvement Swiss-made en version élaborée : 78 euros.

2 : Prix du reste de la montre (de fabrication chinoise) + assemblage (suisse) : 52 euros…

 

Coût total de fabrication de la montre : 130 euros… C’est moins cher que le seul bracelet de la Bohen Mille-Mer (et la boucle n’est même pas inclue).

 

Prix de vente de ces montres sur internet (en direct du fabriquant) : entre 450 et 800 euros.

 

Ainsi, toutes les montres Swiss-Made dans cette fourchette de prix sont en réalité Made in China. Mais ce n’est pas vraiment là qu’est le problème. Le vrai problème, c’est qu’avec 52 euros, vous ne pouvez pas avoir une boite, un fond de boite, un cadran, des aiguilles, une couronne, un bracelet et une boucle de qualité.

Voilà pourquoi le label Swiss Made ne signifie en aucun cas qu’une montre Suisse est de qualité supérieure à une montre non suisse, d’autant que Miyota, fournisseur de solides mouvements japonais, vous offrira une aussi bonne fiabilité et une précision comparable (dans ce niveau de gamme) pour moins cher.

 

 

Origine :

Prenez une Rolls-Royce ou une Aston-Martin, symboles du luxe absolu en automobile. Est-ce que ces marques anglaises produisent des voitures vraiment anglaises ? Non. Idem pour BMW. Aujourd’hui, toute production est internationale, pour des raisons de technologie et de prix de revient.

 

Avec la mondialisation, beaucoup de fabricants Suisses, en perte de compétitivité, ont été rachetés par des groupes allemands et ont su redevenir concurrentiels face aux usines chinoises. Comment ? En acceptant la notion de fabrication internationale :

1 : Supériorité du savoir faire des horloger suisses.

2 : Investissements des partenaires allemands.

3 : Optimisation des coûts fabrication, parfois, avec une part cachée de fabrication asiatique. Mais sans réduction de la qualité.

Lorsque je vivais au Vietnam, j’ais rencontré un Suisse très sympathique qui avait monté un atelier de joaillerie dans le troisième district d’Ho-Chi-Minh. Un de ses clients était un des plus gros joaillier de la Place Vendôme (à Paris). Le secret était absolu. Évidemment, le but était de baisser le prix de fabrication, pour une qualité égale.

LA RUMEUR.

Sur les blogs horlogers, on parle parfois de cette partie obscure de la fabrication. Certains l’affirment : il y aurait-il une unité de fabrication au Nouveau Mexique qui travaillerait pour Rolex. D’autres affirment avoir vu un atelier de sous-traitance Omega basé dans le Delta du Mékong. Est-ce vrai ? Est-ce une légende ? Je n’en sais rien mais ceux qui savent ne diront rien : l’horlogerie est un monde fermé et secret.

La seule question à laquelle on pourra répondre, c’est de savoir si la qualité des montres Rolex ou Omega est vraiment exceptionnelle. Et pour moi, la réponse est claire : OUI, ces deux fleurons de l’horlogerie suisse proposent ce qu’il y a de mieux à leurs clients. Donc, on en revient à l’exemple de Rolls et Aston Martin.

 

Swissness.

Au début de notre projet, nous étions obsédés par le pourcentage de Swissness de la montre. Un jour, par hasard, mon épouse est tombée sur un article qui parlait des personnes les plus influentes de l’horlogerie suisse. En lisant cet article, j’ai reconnu une personne avec qui j’avais fait mes débuts en horlogerie. J’étais designer junior, et cette personne (que nous appellerons « C ») commençait au service commercial. A tout hasard, j’ai envoyé un e-mail pour féliciter « C » de son parcours professionnel remarquable et pour l’informer de mon projet. Par chance, « C » m’a rapidement répondu et nous avons repris contact. Après lui avoir parlé de Bohen, « C » nous a tout de suite dit : ce n’est pas comme ça que tu vas obtenir le meilleur résultat au niveau de la qualité. Ce qu’il faut, ce n’est pas que ta montre soit Suisse à 100 %. Ce qu’il faut, c’est que tu ailles chercher le meilleur de la qualité pour tes clients, tout en restant accessible au niveau du prix.

 

« C » nous à donné un exemple très concret, qui va tout de suite vous éclairer :

 

Notre verre en saphir, Swiss-Made et résistant à 100 ATM, coûtait 21 francs Suisses.

« C » nous a montré le même verre, fabriqué en chine, mais pour 12 dollars…

 

Question : Le verre suisse est-il de meilleure qualité ?

Réponse de « C » : Aucune différence, parce qu’en réalité c’est le même. Le verre a été acheté en Chine, mais le traitement a été réalisé en suisse (ce qui permet de le rendre Swiss-Made).

 

Et voilà le rôle tendancieux que joue la mondialisation dans le Swiss-Made.

 

Alors à votre avis quel verre avons nous choisi ? Le moins cher, pour vous avantager ? Ou le plus cher, pour assurer une plus grande part de Swissness ?

La réponse est « aucun des deux », parce que « C » nous a ensuite présenté un fabriquant japonais qui fournit des lentilles pour l’aérospatiale et pour de grandes marques d’optiques, dans une qualité et un taux de pureté incomparables. En revanche, le prix du verre japonais nous a fait passer de 21 Francs suisses à 45 dollars. Pour ce prix, vous avez la Rolls des saphir.

 

De là, « C » nous a présenté le président d’un bureau d’études qui pilote la fabrication d’une marque suisse que vous connaissez tous, dont les prix de vente montent jusqu’à 20.000 dollars. En travaillant avec ce bureau, nous avons immédiatement eu accès aux sous-traitants des plus grandes marques et nos petites quantité n’ont soudain plus été un problème. Comme quoi, les relations comptent. 

 

Qu’est-ce que cela nous a apporté ?

Une qualité qui nous installe sans aucun compromis dans la cour des grands.

Un prix qui ne dépasse pas la barre que nous avions fixé.

Une confiance dans le processus de fabrication.

Un très fort taux de Swissness.

 

Quels sacrifices avons-nous du faire ?

Notre marge est passée de X3 est à X2 (eh oui, forcément, il n’y a pas de miracle).

Le niveau de Swissness est moins élevé à cause du verre, mais aussi du packaging qui sera réalisé par le sous-traitant asiatique de plusieurs marques de luxe.

Grâce à cela, nous avons pu pousser notre travail plus loin et apporter toutes les subtilités qui définissent un produit de luxe : Un acier très pur, aux normes aérospatiales. Utilisation du Black Polish (le plus beau des polissages manuels) et utilisation d’une technique spéciale pour les effets de Brossé Profonds. Ce sont des finitions qui se verront et vous offriront une sensation de beauté. Idem pour le mouvement anti-magnétique : même s’il n’y a pas de fond transparent, notre mouvement modifié recevra des ponts perlés et de la côte de Genève.

Pour obtenir des index sertis uniquement sur trois côtés, nous avons crée une matière luminescente dans la masse puisque la peinture n’était plus applicable.

Pour les aiguilles : trois couches de Superluminova pour obtenir la plus haute intensité, ainsi que des pans inclinés et brossés. Tous ces détails génèrent le raffinement que vous ne trouverez que sur de montres de luxe, sans compter notre loupe de quantièmes que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs. Après tout, pourquoi se priver du meilleur ?

Le luxe est un art,

L'exigence en est le cœur,

La rareté en est l'âme.

Fin avril, nous allons enfin pouvoir vous dévoiler les vidéos, les photos et les premières review de la montre. Nous sommes dans la dernière ligne droite avant l’arrivée et il n’y aura que 500 montres dans la série Ambassador (à prix préférentiel).

Si une de nos Bohen Mille-Mer vous intéresse, il faut vous inscrire maintenant sur notre site car nous ne savons pas combien de membres vont finalement acheter la montre. Ce qui est certain, c’est qu’ils seront prioritaires et que notre communauté a dépassé les 500 membres dans les deux premiers mois de notre création. Aujourd’hui, ils sont plusieurs milliers et les inscriptions augmentent chaque jour.

Pour devenir membre, cliquez ici :